share
find
us
- The Eisenberg -
Saybritz, Szapary, Hummergraben and Königsberg – the sites in which the grapes for Groszer Wein are growing – read like a ‘Who‘s Who’ of the best vineyards on the Eisenberg. For a long time, the Eisenberg embodied the very backside of beyond. Today, though it is at the geographic midsection of Central Europe: on the border to Hungary and not far from Slovenia. And Croatia is closer to the Eisenberg than Vienna is. No wonder that wines are growing here that speak with some unfamiliar accents. The end of the Alps, the beginning of the Pannonian Plain, flirting with a breath of the Mediterranean.
- Saybritz -
The vineyard site Saybritz covers 2.6 hectares, is situated at 250–350 metres above sea level and with its 25% incline rises steeply on the southwestern Eisenberg. Here, a particular microclimate prevails. The site is very sunny, and the thermal draughts provide the vines with constant airflow. The soils are composed of rocky brown earth and mica schist, from which the grapes draw the mineral components of their typicity. The age of the vines is between 10–50 years.
- Szapary -
The 2.2 hectare site Szapary, at 250–350 metres elevation, has the steepest gradient among our vineyards, and is thus the most difficult to cultivate on the entire Eisenberg. The warm and porous mica schist soils of this site yield extremely filigreed and thus very fruit-forward wines, featuring aromas of bright red fruits, cherries and currants. On the palate the wines display prominent mineral notes; very fine of structure with a salty and spicy finish. Vines are between 10–40 years old.
- Königsberg -
Protected from the elements, the south-facing Königsberg is 3.9 hectares in size, situated with some six per cent incline at about 300 metres elevation, and is composed of sandy and porous loam soils. The site offers particularly good conditions for growing the variety Zweigelt, whose grapes provide the foundation for an unusually authoritative, rather masculine wine with impressive structure. Here the vines have just reached their tenth birthday.

share
find
us
- Eisenberg -
Saybritz, Szapary, Hummergraben, Königsberg – die Weinberge, in denen die Trauben für „Groszer Wein“ wachsen, lesen sich wie das „Who is Who“ der besten Rebhänge am Eisenberg. Im letzten Eck lag der Eisenberg lange Zeit. Heute ist er die geographische Mitte Zentraleuropas: an der Grenze zu Ungarn, unweit von Slowenien. Und selbst Kroatien ist ihm näher als Wien. Kein Wunder, dass hier Weine wachsen, die manch ungewohnten Akzent sprechen. Das Ende der Alpen, der Beginn Pannoniens und mit einem Hauch Mittelmeer kokettierend.
- Saybritz -
Die 2,6 Hektar grosze Lage Saybritz, liegt auf 250 bis 350 m Seehöhe und stellt mit 25 Prozent Steigung ein steiles Hangstück am südwestlichen Eisenberg dar. Hier herrscht ein besonderes Mikroklima. Die Lage ist sehr sonnig, und die Thermik sorgt für eine konstante Ventilation der Reben. Aus dem Boden, der sich aus Felsbraunerde und Schiefer zusammensetzt, beziehen die Trauben ihre typische mineralische Komponente. Das Alter der Rebstöcke liegt bei 10 bis 50 Jahren.
- Szapary -
Die 2,2 Hektar grosze Lage Szapary auf 250-350 m Seehöhe ist der steilste und damit die am schwersten zu bearbeitende Hang des Eisenbergs. Der warme, durchlässige Schieferboden dieser Lage bringt extrem filigrane und deshalb sehr fruchtige Weine hervor, mit Aromen von hellroten Früchten, Kirsche und Johannisbeere. Am Gaumen zeigen die Weine betont mineralische Noten. Sie wirken sehr fein strukturiert und haben einen salzigen, würzigen Abgang. Die Rebstöcke sind zwischen 10 und 40 Jahre alt.
- Königsberg -
Die geschützte Südlage Königsberg ist 3,9 Hektar grosz, liegt mit ca. sechs Prozent Steigung auf rund 300 Meter Seehöhe und besteht aus sandigem, durchlässigem Lehmboden. Die Lage bietet besonders gute Bedingungen für die Sorte Zweigelt, deren Trauben die Grundlage für einen ungewöhnlich kräftigen, fast maskulinen Wein mit beeindruckender Struktur sind. Die Rebstöcke sind hier erst 10 Jahre alt.